You’ll understand when…

13 Jun

I had a conversation yesterday (one of many like it) that got a little under my skin. I wasn’t going to write about it, mainly because of how frequently I have a similar conversation with various people. Then I saw this blog. Now, The Matt Walsh Blog has very little to do with mine and yet the idea is similar.

“You’ll understand when you’re older.” or “Just wait until you have kids.” or “Well you only work three days a week”. Never mind that those three days are 13 hour shifts (sometimes longer) and fall on weekends. Never mind that I haven’t had kids but I have had two reconstructive surgeries and multiple injuries. Never mind that there are an absurd amount of overweight and obese people my age and younger.

But every time I start to get worked up about it I realize… it isn’t me. They can’t really believe that I’m only in shape because I’m younger than them or don’t have kids or… insert excuse here. But people who aren’t ready to change or are trying to face past decisions have a need to rationalize. It’s human. We all do it. I do it! Because while I am in relatively good shape, it’s still not the shape I want to be in. I’m not to a maintenance stage yet but I’m also not currently putting in the work I’d need to improve. Sometimes I catch myself making excuses in my head “well, they don’t have…” but the reality is, that’s on me.

WE HAVE TO STOP. Making excuses by taking away others’ accomplishments doesn’t help anyone. We need to start saying “how did you do it with kids?” or “how did you come back from that injury?”. We need to learn from the people we want to be like, not make excuses why we can’t do the same thing.

Image

 

What do you think?

