Human Connection

18 Aug

I look through my phone and have all these workouts I mean to post or new recipes I’ve made and yet for some reason I’ve been missing that step to actually post them. I apologize :-/

This weekend was pretty busy. Saturday I had some ladies over for brunch while hubby had to go into work and got a quick workout in with Yoga Meltdown. Yesterday I skipped the workout because we spent all afternoon landscaping the yard… moving that many bricks and weeds was enough of a workout for my back! Hopefully just a couple more weekends and the yard make over will be done.

On the drive for a Home Depot run (one of many) hubby and I got to talking. I’m not sure why but lately the idea of human connection has been on my mind a lot. Probably part of why I’ve been spending less time online and posting. I’ve been thanked for doing things that, in my opinion, are what any decent human being would do. I’ve seen more and more people who seem to have forgotten how to be polite and on the news violence and shootings seems to be the norm. A doctor I work with wrote a post on a similar topic in The Story of Health and ended with the sentence that he has been a sleepwalker in a sleepwalking society. I think that’s when it hit me. We’ve lost passion in our society. Not passion for sports or arguments… there’s plenty of that. Passion for each other. Respect for each other and each others’ lives. You hear stories of people being beaten and bystanders taking videos instead of helping. Is that the norm now? If so, how did it become that way?

By this point you’re probably wondering what this has to do with fitness and why I’m writing about it. If we have lost passion for each other, the passion for living, why would we expect people to be passionate about healthy living? I think part of what makes fitness so addicting (aside from the post work out highs and the confidence gains) is the fitness community. I’ve posted about it before but I don’t think I drew the same connection. This community is made of people who are fighting for something. Whether it’s a fight for weight loss or a fight to earn their place in a competition or just fighting to live the best life they can… those involved in the fitness community have usually found a passion for life.

So here’s my goal moving forward and what I challenge you to do. Spread that passion. Take the supportive environment in the gym and bring it outside. Hold the door open for someone, it’s the same amount of courtesy as taking your weight plates off a machine. Smile at your neighbor, it might be more encouraging than telling your gym partner they’ve had a great set. Just bring the passion and dedication we put into our workouts into the real world. Who knows, maybe it won’t change a thing, but maybe it will and maybe it will inspire people to seek out the healthy lifestyle. If you can inspire even one person to join our fight, it’s worth it right?

Cinque Terre hike in Italy

                                Cinque Terre hike in Italy

One Response to “Human Connection”

  1. Michelle A. August 18, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

    That was so beautiful, Laura! Challenge accepted 😉

What do you think?

