Lemon Chicken Kebabs

2 Sep

I love mixing up recipes and trying new things in the kitchen. Tonight I had found a recipe I wanted to try but I didn’t have all the ingredients for that sauce so I decided to experiment and combine some things. Here’s what I ended up doing…

For the chicken:

  • 2.5 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 4 minced garlic cloves
  • 2 sprigs fresh cilantro chopped
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbs cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 small or 1/2 large red pepper
  • 2 large chicken breasts
  • 6 pre-soaked skewers
  1. Preheat broiler (I used lo setting)
  2. Combine zest, juice, oil, cilantro, garlic and spices
  3. Cut chicken, onions and pepper into cubes
  4. Toss spice mixture with chicken and veggies and then thread onto skewers
  5. Place skewers on lightly greased broiler pan
  6. Broil approx. 15 min, turning occasionally. (I turned my broiler to high for the last 5 min)

Yogurt sauce:

  • 1/2 C Greek Honey Yogurt (I’m obsessed with Greek God’s)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients and serve with the chicken.

**full disclosure, I didn’t measure my spices, that’s just a guess

kebabsI served them with rice and honey-garlic brussel sprouts. Enjoy!

Here are the two recipes I used as inspiration:

Kebabs with Creamy Pesto

Cumin Chicken with Lemon Honey Dip

What do you think?

