Fit While Traveling

20 Oct

This weekend hubby and I took a day off work and went back to MN for one of my good friends weddings. It was great to see family but a few days is never enough time, we didn’t even make it back to hubby’s home town. Despite the crazy schedule of our weekend, the wedding was great. I love weddings, especially when you just feel that the couple is a good fit and this was definitely one of those.

While my diet certainly wasn’t the best this weekend, it wasn’t awful. This led me to think about easy things I try to do while traveling and I thought I should share my top 3 rules…

1. Hydrate! It drives hubby crazy but the first thing I do after getting through security is get a bottle of water. An easy option if you don’t want to buy one is to bring an empty bottle with you through security and find a water fountain to fill it.

2. Bring your snacks. Obviously you eat out more when traveling and, while sometimes that makes it easier to find healthy meal options, snacking can get hard. Especially at the airport! Just save yourself temptation and trouble and bring your own.

3. Stay active. Even if you aren’t getting in gym time, find healthier ways to spend your time on vacation. One day we went to the museum and walked to the park with my niece and nephew, another day my dad and I took our family dog out and just walked to the neighborhood coffee shop while we caught up. You don’t have to do a lot, but you do have to do something.

I could write a whole post on healthy options eating out (and probably have or will) but something to keep in mind at restaurants is always portion control.

Do you have tips or tricks for staying on track while traveling? Do you allow yourself to cheat a bit like I do?

IMG_0337.JPG
**not my image, thank you Google search 🙂

What do you think?

