Clean Chicken Salad

23 Nov

This weekend hubby and I had the pleasure of hosting a baby shower for an awesome couple stationed here with us. I love hosting parties but I always struggle over the menu… I want to make sure it’s food everyone will enjoy but I refuse to give up all of my healthy alternatives. So, of course, we had a baby cake and some desserts but I also made the mini quiche (which were a huge hit) and a healthy fall chicken salad.

Glimpse of the invitations

A Glimpse of the invitations

I’m kicking myself because I took barely any pictures but here’s the recipe…

You’ll need:

  • 3/4 C plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 C dried cherries
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts
  • 1 pear (diced)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1.5 lb shredded chicken (if you buy canned to save time, make sure it’s in water)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients and enjoy! Serve on it’s own or with whole grain crackers

Do you have a healthy go-to dish for when you entertain? What are some of your favorite party recipes?

3 Responses to “Clean Chicken Salad”

  1. Charissa (@ColourfulPalate) November 23, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    This sounds great and I have most of the ingredients! Sounds like something I need to make post haste!

    • fitandbusy November 24, 2014 at 8:50 am #

      You could always do dried cranberries too! I always buy no sugar added dried fruits

  2. ashley November 24, 2014 at 3:17 pm #

    I like to take hummus cups with veggies. I cook whole wheat pizza dough in mini muffin pans, when they are warm put a deep thumb print in them, fill them with hummus and top with diced veggies. Yum!

What do you think?

