Train together, stay together

22 Dec

Happy Monday! More importantly, Merry (almost) Christmas!

Lately I’ve been dealing with a lot of increased back pain so workouts have been fewer and lighter. This is also why I’ve been posting almost nothing. I realized though that while I do need to work within my limits and not make the problem worse (and still be able to do my job as a nurse), I was falling back into using it as an excuse to not workout at all. Enough is enough. So, aside from my physical therapy exercises I’ve been working to get back into workouts.

In the spirit of no excuses, hubby and I have recently made a friendly competition. We made a monthly calendar and are tracking when we workout. Whoever works out more that month gets to choose what we do for a date day. We try to do a little date every week (even if it’s just take out and a movie at home) so this will be an activity or something out of the normal for our “special” date. Do you workout as a family or do things to motivate each other? Or do you have a workout partner/friend who challenges you?

One of my favorite photographers, Mike Cadotte

One of my favorite photographers, Mike Cadotte Pictured: @Gable_fit and @Anthony_traps, find them on Instagram!

Example of today’s workout:

20-30 min of PT exercises (core and glute strengthening)

20 walk out push-ups

2 sets:

20 deadlifts

20 split lunges/leg

2 sets of 20 hamstring bridges

1 min plank

30 sec side plank/side

10 Pilates roll-ups

3 Sun Salutations

2 Responses to “Train together, stay together”

  1. ashley December 22, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    Cute idea! I’m going to have to set up a challenge with my hubby!

    • fitandbusy December 22, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

      Our schedules are so different we can rarely work out together so this was a way we could still keep each other motivated. Let me know what you all set up!

What do you think?

