New Years’ Reflection

6 Jan

I’m torn today. You see, I didn’t specifically make a New Years Resolution for fitness this year. I made other resolutions, mainly to get better at staying in touch with friends spread around the world. I want to be clear though, that doesn’t mean I don’t have fitness goals. It does mean I didn’t wait until New Years Eve to make those goals, and it certainly means I don’t want it to take all of 2015 to accomplish my current goals.

To me, I want a lifetime of continuous goals and resolutions. I can say I want to be healthier in 2015 but, what does that even mean? I want to eat healthier, sure. I want to work out more, always. But none of those have a real measurement of success. I think that’s why I don’t like New Years Fitness Resolutions. They tend to be so broad that they’re almost impossible to track or so specific that it shouldn’t take you all year to accomplish, then what?

It seems to be taken as a given that people won’t maintain their resolutions, in large part because resolutions are made in lists and in such broad terms. So here’s my challenge to you. Make your fitness goals but set a timeline and a measurement of success. Then when you accomplish those goals, add on new ones. Keep moving forward, even into 2016. Don’t stop just because you make awesome progress into this year’s resolution. Certainly don’t give up when March comes around and you aren’t a completely new person. Long-term fitness has to be a lifestyle choice, and that doesn’t go away when next NYE rolls around.

Be Inspired Every Day

Be Inspired Every Day

In the spirit of my workout goals mentioned in my November post, I have been adding weight lifting back into my workouts. I’ve been having some issues getting my physical therapy covered so it’s been slower progress than I was hoping but I’m starting to find a happy balance between my PT exercises and other workout styles. I’ve been writing down my workouts but not making the time to post them (Which reminds me, one of my other goals is to post twice a week.)

Today was leg day at the gym…

Warmed up with PT exercises and planks

2 x Walking lunges (down and back length of the gym)

2 x side shuffles (down and back length of the gym)

2 x walking lunges to backward run (lunge down, backwards run back)

2 x 20 squats

3 x 12 single leg deadlifts (I had to switch to normal straight leg deadlifts because of my back but shoot for the single leg)

3 x Super-set:

  • 12 quad pull-ins on medicine ball
  • 12 hamstring curls on medicine ball

We finished with stretching and some core work.

One Response to “New Years’ Reflection”

  1. Pam Palmer Stafford January 9, 2015 at 6:06 am #

    Thank you for taking the time to do this blog. It looks so professional and has lots of great information. Plus you look really great. I admire your commitment.

What do you think?

