Gym Time

13 Jan

Today was a great day. I slept in to make up for the lack of sleep the past couple days, made a delicious breakfast (okay, it was just scrambled eggs and fruit) and then started my day with a massage. My knots and back have gotten so bad that I’ve been waking up with headaches more often than not… It’s not good when a massage therapist is impressed with your knots.

After that I came home and finished some emails and things around the house before heading the gym. There was almost no one there (which really surprised me given the time of year) and I could do all my super-sets basically back to back. I had one of the best leg workouts I’ve had in awhile.

Leg Day Always Pays OffI used more machines than I have been because they’re a bit easier on my back. Here’s what the workout looked like…

3 sets:

  • 12 single leg deadlifts/leg
  • 30 lateral hop overs

3 sets:

  • 12 leg press
  • 20 calf press
  • 20 squats (body weight)

3 sets:

  • 12 leg extensions
  • 12 hamstring curls

2 sets:

The whole thing took about 45 minutes and then I stretched out.

I also tried Quest Nutrition Bars for the first time today. I’d had a bite of one of my co-workers a while back and finally decided to try it for myself. I tried the apple pie, the flavor was good but the texture was a little gritty. I’ve been told to try it warmed up so that’s going to be my next attempt with the cinnamon roll. Have you tried them? Do you have a different favorite protein bar?

photo 2I was not paid or compensated in any way for this post, my review of Quest Bars is solely my own opinion.

What do you think?

