How do you relax?

14 Jan

Today was my last day off before working the next two. It might not mean much if you’re used to a 9-5 schedule but on days I work, I get almost nothing else done. Especially because, lately, I get home and my back hurts so badly I spend the rest of the night on the couch. On the plus side, it seems like things are working out for me to get back into physical therapy so hopefully that will start having a positive effect soon.

My last day off of a stretch is always really busy, luckily today I got everything done on my list. Heck before 11 I had cleaned the whole house, done the budgeting, and updated some Instragram and Twitter settings (@FitAndBusyRN). Then I had physical therapy and a couple other appointments which left only about 30 minutes to workout this afternoon. These are days I love Nike Training Club. 30 minutes, decent sweat and shoulders were BURNING.

At first I was feeling guilty but between cleaning the house, physical therapy, and a short but intense workout my body is tired! Sometimes I forget that even non-workouts (i.e. cleaning today) can be a great way to burn some extra calories. After my appointments I came home and spent another 20 min or so stretching out and now I’m just taking some time to relax before my next two days.

I’m planning a shrimp and quinoa stir-fry for dinner once hubby gets home. If it turns out well I’ll try to post the recipe. I think playing around with recipes and having a nice glass of wine is probably one of my favorite ways to unwind at the end of the day. What about you? Do you cook to relax? Take time to watch a movie? What’s your go to?

What do you think?

