Meet My Team

7 Feb

I’m ten weeks out! I still feel more nervous than anything. I guess because I feel so far from where I want to be. But, I am starting to see changes so, trying to focus on that.

The most common question I’ve been getting lately is how I can do all this with a back injury. The simple answer is, with a great team. I’m fortunate to be in a position that allows me to have a full team of people behind me. Not just my hubby and family and friends but people who are experts in their fields.

My coach: Jill Vadala– She’s the one who makes sure I don’t look like an idiot on stage. Diet questions, meal plan, supplements, bikinis, everything in between

My trainer: Mike Brooks @ Sport & Health– He keeps my workouts changing and within the limitations from my physical therapist. Also deals with my insecurities and keeps me pushing forward.

Physical therapist: Patriot Sports Medicine- They’re awesome and Kayla has dealt with more exercise questions and texts than she probably bargained for! All while correcting my form and making sure I stay within my limits to strengthen my back, not injure it further. She’s my exercise voice of reason.

Dietitian: Rebecca Mohning- She makes sure the competition meal plan still allows for proper recovery and falls within my metabolic needs. She’s my nutrition voice of reason.

Not much of a secret. I’m doing everything I can to follow a dream without risking further injury. It’s an intense training and meal plan but I have a team of people making sure I stay on the healthy side of the extreme while in prep time. The farther into this I get, the more people I meet. I try to learn what I can from advice offered and make sure that my prep is working for me- both physically and mentally.

Let me be clear. I am not suggesting that in order to compete you need all of that. Plenty of people compete all the time on their own or with one of the four. This is just what hubby and I decided would work best for me (and for us as a couple, he gets peace of mind).

One Response to “Meet My Team”

  1. MCM Mama (@mcmmama) February 8, 2015 at 10:00 am #

    Sounds like you have awesome support! Good luck!

What do you think?

