Hello World

26 Mar

Eek… has it really been over a month since I posted? I swear I’ve sat down at least 4-5 times to write updates and post pictures but time has gotten away from me! So, I apologize.

I have had a lot of changes lately. I’ve decided to make a career change. I love my job and my co-workers at the ER, however I have decided that I will love the pediatric ICU even more. I’ve always loved working with kids and with my back problems, I finally decided God was pushing me to make that change sooner rather than later. So, I’ll be taking April off to spend some time with friends and family and then I start my new job at the beginning of May.

I’ve also had a lot of travel and family time. We went back to Minnesota for my nephew’s baptism and a week later I went on my first cruise! It was really fun but not easy to eat healthy while on a cruise :-/ I made it through though and the next couple trips (one to South Carolina and one to Key West) should be a bit more manageable.

The pool area on the ship

The pool area on the ship

Aside from that, I’ve slowly learned to love cardio again (or at least not hate it) and I’ve been busting my tail at the gym. Today I wasn’t able to make it to the gym but got in a leg workout at home that I’ll post below. I was exhausted before I started but I still combined it with a 30 min Barre workout and felt so much better afterwards. It’s amazing how much better a workout can make you feel. I wanted to include some progress pictures and then I’ll post the workout at the end. Hope you’ve had a great last month and will continue to follow moving forward!

3 weeks ago

5.5 weeks ago on the left, 3 weeks ago on the right  

photo 2(2)

5.5 weeks ago and 3 weeks ago

3 months ago on the left, 1 week ago on the right

3 months ago on the left, 1 week ago on the right

As for the leg workout today…

3 sets:

  • 20 squat to shoulder press with dumbbells
  • 12 lunges/leg
  • 30 shoulder circles forward
  • 30 shoulder circles backward

3 sets:

  • 20 BOSU bridges
  • 12 Deadlift to upright row
  • 45 sec wall sit

30 min barre leg and core workout

4 Responses to “Hello World”

  1. Linda @ The Fitty March 27, 2015 at 8:33 am #

    Welcome back to blogging! You look incredible. 🙂

    • fitandbusy March 27, 2015 at 8:54 am #

      Thank you!! I can’t believe I went so long without posting

  2. thetrainerlife April 13, 2015 at 5:15 pm #

    Your progress pics are great!

What do you think?

