Protein Pumpkin French Toast

28 Mar

This morning I was craving french toast but knew I needed a lot more protein than that to stay in my macros for the day (and a lot less carbs the rest of the day). So I decided to make protein french toast. I’ve also been wanting pumpkin so I worked that in too!

You’ll need:

  • 1/4-1/2 C pumpkin
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein
  • 1/4 C almond milk (I want to play with this amount)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Allspice and nutmeg to taste
  • 2-3 slices whole grain bread (I use Rudi’s multigrain, Ezekiel would be a great option)
  1. Whisk together the ingredients (other than the bread) and pour into shallow dish
  2. Dip bread in mixture, leave in a few seconds on each side to soak in the egg mixture
  3. Transfer onto a warm, lightly greased pan or griddle
  4. Flip the pieces while you cook until they are golden brown on both sides
I ate mine before I could take a picture... found this at Healthy Recipes Blog

I ate mine before I could take a picture… found this at Healthy Recipes Blog

5 Responses to “Protein Pumpkin French Toast”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities March 28, 2015 at 11:29 pm #

    TOTALLY YUM! ๐Ÿ™‚ LOVEEE PUMPKIN and protein powder – I need to try making this… Just need to also make a bread recipe I can eat!!

    • fitandbusy March 29, 2015 at 8:52 am #

      I’m with you! I don’t care if it is spring or fall, I love pumpkin!

  2. Isabella March 29, 2015 at 1:03 am #

    Great recipe idea, I love pumpkin and look forward to seeing more of your posts!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Keep up the great work!
    XO,
    Isabella

    • fitandbusy March 29, 2015 at 8:53 am #

      Thank you! And thanks for following!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Protein Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes | fit and busy - October 5, 2015

    […] was my Saturday so I took advantage and made Protein Pumpkin Spiced Pancakes. Last year I posted Pumpkin French Toast but pancakes just sounded better this morning. I combined two recipes I found and played with […]

What do you think?

