Lessons From First Trimester

29 Apr

I’ve got one more week in my first trimester and thought I’d share what I’ve learned so far. As I said in my last post, this is how MY body has been. Your pregnancy (or your friends’ or wife’s) will be different than my pregnancy. However, hopefully you can find something useful in this.

1. There will be days you physically can’t workout… and that is okay. This was hardest for me to accept, especially coming off training for the competition. At about week 6 I got hit with an awful sinus infection (okay, and initially I was too stubborn to go to the doctor) that just knocked me out. I was already tired and dizzy and that just made it one hundred times worse. This brings me to number 2.

2. Listen to your body, within reason. I don’t mean take a nap instead of going to the gym every day (if you’re like me, it was tempting). I do mean when you feel like you are going to pass out from doing cardio, stop. I had to basically stop doing cardio for most of my first trimester and am really just now trying again. I have to do way lower intensity than I was before and again, that’s okay. Just don’t completely stop. Find a workout you can tolerate– mine has been Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown

3. When they say feed the nausea, they mean it. You can ask hubby. I have to eat every 2 hours. I will be dizzy and sick by two and a half if I let it get that far. Now, I don’t mean full meals every two hours. For me a big breakfast is key… And then a morning snack, lunch, a couple afternoon snacks, and dinner, plus sometimes a bed time snack. Just keep in mind the extra 300-500 calories you need doesn’t really kick in until around week 11. Spread your calories throughout the day and focus on making sure it’s a balanced diet (babies NEED fats and carbs!). For me, carbs have been my friend to control the nausea– this was also VERY hard to accept coming off the competition training.

4. It’s okay to ask for help. If you’re as lucky as I am your significant other is more than willing to help… they just might not think you need it. You don’t really look different, if it’s your first pregnancy you probably aren’t even showing in the first trimester, and they can’t possibly understand how exhausting doing nothing can be while growing a small human. I still have to remind myself to just explain what I need help with and tell hubby how I’m feeling at any given minute.

5. This is the most important. LISTEN TO YOUR DOCTOR. I can give you my advice and my experiences but I am not an OB/GYN or Nurse Midwife and I have no clue what is going on with your pregnancy. Your doctor’s office is your best resource, don’t be afraid to ask questions.

Did you have any tips or tricks you lived by in your first trimester?

photo(6)

10 week baby “bump”

**Don’t forget! You can use code FITANDBUSY for 25% off at For Two Fitness and get great maternity workout gear

9 Responses to “Lessons From First Trimester”

  1. Katie Volz April 29, 2015 at 6:42 pm #

    When I was in my first trimester I found that the best way to fight nausea was an Almond Butter and Jelly sandwich before a workout with Gatorade after.
    I had hyperemesis gravidarum my first trimester so even getting out of bed was hard in the morning from the nausea. But the mix of healthy fats from the almond butter and homemade strawberry jam helped settle my stomach and the Gatorade helped with the dehydration. It made working out so much easier! Congrats on your pregnancy Laura!

    • fitandbusy April 29, 2015 at 7:00 pm #

      Yes! I’ve been loving peanut butter and jelly

  2. Tiffaspilla April 29, 2015 at 6:53 pm #

    awesome! great post, super important to listen to your body! xx

  3. Rachel B April 29, 2015 at 8:12 pm #

    Oh man, there are no words for how exhausted you are the first trimester. Well, unless ‘zzzzzz’ counts. Great advice! the only thing I would add is take some of your workouts outside! The fresh air can also help deal with nausea and some vitamin D helps workout recovery. Or so my coach likes to tell me. 🙂

    • fitandbusy April 30, 2015 at 6:58 am #

      Agreed! I’ve been trying to get out and walk with the pups now that the weather is nicer

  4. Kay April 29, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

    If I’d recommend any particular workout move- practice those yoga cat/cows-oh lordy will that help you later in labor! and your back while your belly is growing. As for nausea, I guess I really had very little. But I think that comes from taking a good prenatal vitamin and eating well (good fats like those nuts and avacados!) helped a ton! And hard candy (lemon drops) was my thing to have on hand if I had to go longer than a couple hours without eating.

    • fitandbusy April 30, 2015 at 7:02 am #

      I tried candy and it didn’t work as well for me, now I keep whole grain crackers and an apple in my purse lol I do love a good avocado though and I def. agree a good prenatal is key! Thanks!!

  5. Just Another Running Mother April 30, 2015 at 8:49 pm #

    I guess my tip would be to attempt a short walk/easy work out even when you feel nauseous (if you’ve already been on a work out schedule before you get the positive test). During my first pregnancy I stopped working out completely the first 10 weeks because I felt sick and didn’t think I could do it. This time around I decided to at least give it a shot and stop if I really didn’t feel well. Turns out that even a short jog made me feel so much better. I even felt energized afterwards. It may not work for everyone but you may be pleasantly surprised =)

    I hear you on eating every few hours. During the trimester this time around I felt dizzy and lightheaded all the time. I honestly felt as though I’d pass out any minute! Eating small things like crackers or a bit of cheese helped greatly. Just thought I’d throw it out there but Preggie Pop drops are pretty awesome, too! I found them to be great when I felt sick but didn’t feel like I could stomach food. There’s something so soothing about sour candy during those first few weeks…

What do you think?

