Working Out While Pregnant

12 May

To be honest, I am still adjusting to the effects being pregnant has on working out. And since my body will be constantly changing I suspect the adjusting will be a continual thing through this pregnancy. The biggest adjustment for me is having to slow down. Today I was winded after a set of twelve rows to tricep kickbacks. I had to take a nap after I mowed the yard (to be fair mowing in the middle of the afternoon heat probably wasn’t my best idea). I don’t like it but it is what it is. All of this is to say, make the adjustments you need to but just keep moving. Staying active is one of the best things you can do for your baby and yourself.

I plan to keep posting workouts and recipes as I have always done. I just ask that all of you non-preggo readers don’t judge ones that seem light or easy. I’ll admit there are days I have probably taken it easier than I need to and there have been more days than I’d like to admit that I’ve given in to some less than healthy cravings. But, I am doing the best I can to both stay in shape and take care of my baby. Honestly, I’m also probably being a little more cautious in some ways (and lenient in others) than needed since it’s my first pregnancy.

Alright, down to the good stuff. Here’s my arm workout from today:

3 sets:

  • 15 push-ups (adapt by dropping to knees if needed)
  • 12 bent over rows to tricep kickbacks
  • 12/arm weighted cross punches (use light weights, control your movement)

3 sets:

  • 15 tricep dips
  • 12 chest presses on BOSU

3 sets:

  • 12 skull crushers
  • 30 sec. straight arm planks

As I’ve said multiple times now, every pregnancy is different. If your doctor has told you not to workout or has given you guidelines, follow them. If your doctor has cleared you to workout (like most of them will and should for healthy pregnancies) then I hope you keep reading and give some of the workouts a try!

And of course… a bump update.

10 weeks and 13 weeks

10 weeks on the left and 13 weeks on the right

Lastly, if you are expecting or know someone who is, don’t forget about the huge For Two Fitness Giveaway going on now and the 25% off discount with code FITANDBUSY!

2 Responses to “Working Out While Pregnant”

  1. Meghan May 12, 2015 at 10:40 pm #

    You should try prenatal yoga. I have been loving it!!

    • fitandbusy May 12, 2015 at 10:55 pm #

      I saw your post! I’ll have to try it out, I’ve been doing some prenatal barre and really like that

What do you think?

