Clean Bulking

20 Jul

I found out Friday I have not gained any weight over the past month and my total weight gain for the pregnancy is about half what it should be. Oops.

I’m sure there are people out there thinking that I shouldn’t be complaining or that they wish that was their problem. And I get that. But here’s the thing; not weighing enough can be as harmful in pregnancy as gaining too much weight– to be fair, mainly if it starts effecting baby’s growth. For now, they’re re-adjusting my work schedule so I can get on a regular sleep routine, giving me weight goals to meet and checking on baby’s growth in another week or so. My doctor never made me feel stressed or like I’m doing something wrong and really took a team approach for how to increase my weight without just adding junk into my diet.

So, how am I going to add on weight?

I’ve already switched to little/low impact cardio and am focusing on body resistance and light weight training… so that part’s different than when actually bulking.

I also had two wonderful cheat days this weekend for my birthday that included gluten free pasta, brownies, Mexican food, french toast, cookies and more cookies. Despite a decent hike Saturday and short workout yesterday, by the end of two days this is how I felt:

bulk_king While it was fun for a day to eat whatever I wanted and I think the normal sleep schedule will be the biggest help; I’m now on the hunt to add in healthy higher calorie snacks each day.

Here is my list so far:

(thanks to everyone who already added suggestions)

  • Cheese sticks
  • Almonds/nuts
  • Nut butter– peanut butter, almond butter
  • Greek Yogurt– no more non-fat
  • Adding in a protein shake
  • A little extra oil while cooking

And to be honest, I still have some cookies and brownies left over 😉 What are some clean snacks you could add to the list?

**For the record, baby is moving like crazy and I’m confident a normal sleep schedule and some extra protein shakes will fix the weight fairly quickly.

2 Responses to “Clean Bulking”

  1. Just Another Running Mother July 24, 2015 at 3:03 pm #

    I feel your pain. I’m almost 31 weeks and my weight gain has stalled the last month. Everything you listed is what my OB recommended for gaining as well =). I hope your plan works out!

    • fitandbusy July 24, 2015 at 3:06 pm #

      Thank you! I’m sitting here snacking on cinnamon pecans as I type so, I’m trying lol The problem is the more I eat, the more I want to workout too… it’s a struggle. Good luck!

What do you think?

