Welcome to Gymnastics: We Teach Kids How to Fail

21 Aug

Failure is only final if you give up. I grew up as a gymnast and cheerleader and then coached for years. I love this post.

JAG GYM Blog

shutterstock_71075890

Okay, hardly my best tag line ever.

I would not recommend you use this in your future marketing plans.

But it is true.

As the school year kicks off and many new and returning students come into our gymnastics academies, embrace and own one of the things we do best: we teach kids how to fail.

Sure, at gymnastics classes, from our littlest athletes who are just learning to walk to our teens who are about to take off for college, we do many good and wonderful things. And one of the best things we do is teach kids how to fail and fail and fail.

And I love it.

No I am not some sort of sadist who derives great pleasure in watching children struggle and suffer.   But I know that failure is a natural part of life and the learning process and far too many of us are…

View original post 966 more words

2 Responses to “Welcome to Gymnastics: We Teach Kids How to Fail”

  1. Valeria August 25, 2015 at 10:30 pm #

    Hey Laura! I just wanted to thank you because 2 months ago I broke my foot and I was desperate because I suddenly had to completely stop working out. As soon as I felt a little more comfortable with the boot, I wanted to get right back at the movement and you were the only source that included different routines to work out while injured. This was amazing!!! Now that I´m fine again, I realize I barely lost my condition and I kept toned. I appreciate you sharing your routines, and now I can say that I am a fan and follower of your blog, including for the delicious recipes!! I wish you the best for you and your growing family! You look so cute with your belly 🙂 hugs

    • fitandbusy August 26, 2015 at 9:54 am #

      Valeria, Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! I’m so glad I was able to help during your recovery and that you stuck with it. Thank you for following and sharing this!

What do you think?

