Arms and Crock Pot Honey Sesame Chicken

16 Jan

Oh my arms… they hurt. But it’s a good hurt, it’s a getting back into it hard and loving every minute hurt 😉

I’ve decided I’m going to look into the Jamie Eason LiveFit program. To be honest, I probably won’t follow it exactly at least for the 1st phase. The program is made to start people from the very beginning. BUT I do really like the principles of it and she has some great exercises. So honestly it’ll probably just be a few exercises here and there I change. Which also means about 3 weeks off of cardio other than for some ankle PT and locking down my diet (mainly goodbye to my after dinner sweet tooth). Since I had just done a similar workout to her day one, I started on day two and adjusted it based off what I did on Monday so the workout ended up like this…

3 sets of everything, not super-sets, lifting as heavy as I could with still hitting 12. I rested about 30-60 seconds in between each set (30 at the beginning, 60 at the end when I was tired):

  • 12 wide push-ups
  • 12 Dumbbell rows
  • 12 cable rows
  • 12 underhand cable pull-downs (this was new for me, I liked it)
  • 12 dumbbell bicep curls
  • 12 narrow push-ups… these I “set” with 20 calf raises for my ankle and to give my arms a break

I was def. feeling it by the end, and between this and the triceps from Monday my arms are worked today. The trainer had to reschedule yesterday so I’m hopefully meeting her today and we’ll hit legs 🙂

Last night I knew I’d be getting home later than normal and gone when I normally cook so I wanted to use my new crock pot for dinner 🙂 I made a honey sesame chicken and it was delicious! Based off the recipe from The Comfort of Cooking but made some changes to make it easier to cook and a bit healthier. This made about 5-6 servings.

You’ll need:

  • 3-4 Boneless/Skinless Chicken breasts
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 white onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 C honey
  • 1/2 C low sodium soy sauce (again all you GF readers, make sure to check the bottles!)
  • Approx. 2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/3 C water
  • 3 scallions- chopped
  • sesame seeds
  • quinoa (or brown rice)
  1. Lightly season chicken with pepper and place in crockpot
  2. Combine onion, garlic, honey, soy sauce, oil, and pepper over the chicken.
  3. Cook on low for 6 hours **I was really worried about this drying out the chicken because her recipe is different but I didn’t have much choice with how my day played out. With all the sauce, it ended up being great and just falling apart!
  4. After about 4 hours I added in some water to the crock pot and after 6 just turned it to the “warm” setting before I ran out to my next appointment
  5. Remove chicken and shred into bite-size pieces (here you can either set aside or put back into the sauce)
  6. Prepare quinoa according to directions on package
  7. Serve quinoa onto plates, top with chicken and spoon sauce on top.
  8. Sprinkle sesame seeds and the chopped scallions over the top

I was so hungry I forgot to take a picture so here’s the one from Comfort of Cooking. We obviously didn’t have rice with it and since I didn’t add in any thickener the quinoa absorbed some of the sauce… but it looked about the same. Hubby said it tasted similar to “coke chicken” which I don’t remember having before but we decided this can be a healthy substitute. 🙂

Crock-Pot-Honey-Sesame-Chicken3

20 Responses to “Arms and Crock Pot Honey Sesame Chicken”

  1. We Are 2Fit2 Quit January 17, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Heavy heavy heavy, nice!

  2. Julie February 3, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

    Any idea how many calories are in a serving if this sesame chicken?

    • fitandbusy February 4, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

      Hmm I haven’t calculated the nutritional info for this recipe. I’ll have to try to find a calculator to figure it out, I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Brandy March 12, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

    Should the chicken be thawed first?

    • fitandbusy March 12, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

      I always use thawed chicken… I’m not sure how long it would take with frozen.

      • Brandy March 12, 2014 at 9:18 pm #

        Thank you!

      • fitandbusy March 13, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

        Anytime!

  4. Jessi March 30, 2014 at 2:54 pm #

    is there enough of a sauce to add broccoli? And if you did would u add it in the beginning or a couple hours later?

    • fitandbusy March 30, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

      I think there should be enough sauce, I would probably add it in a couple hours later if you have the time to do it that way

  5. yellets May 20, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

    I cannot wait to try this!

  6. Natalie May 27, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

    I just made this..I made a few changes as well. I used liquid aminos instead of soy sauce and did half honey and half agave nectar. I also added juice if one orange and some fresh ginger!! So good!

  7. yeriny October 7, 2014 at 4:27 pm #

    Spoon what sauce on top? Like the remainder of what’s in the pot?

    • fitandbusy October 8, 2014 at 12:03 pm #

      Yep! Hubby likes a lot more sauce than I do so I spoon extra from the crockpot on top of the dish

  8. lbonacci October 12, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    About how much water did you add?

  9. Amie November 27, 2014 at 2:09 am #

    Is that really supposed to be 1 cup of honey? If there’s about 6 servings that puts the sugar (just from the honey) at nearly 50g per serving

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Honey Sesame Chicken | Life of a Russian's Wife - January 15, 2014

    […] I  got this recipe on a fitness website so I knew it would be healthy. The author pairs this recipe with a workout routine so you can find the original workout and recipe here: https://fitandbusy.wordpress.com/2013/01/16/arms-and-crockpot-honey-sesame-chicken/ […]

  2. Mom!!! What’s for Dinner? | Sweet NoVa - September 29, 2014

    […] Honey sesame chicken – It would seem that I had a bit of a craving for honey when I was making this week’s menu. […]

  3. Menu-Plan Monday — Slacker edition | Sweet NoVa - October 6, 2014

    […] – Honey sesame chicken with stirfry veggies and sticky rice – this is a crock pot recipe (queue the chorus of angels) […]

What do you think?